Crack Just Went Silent

Murray Stevens · 880

Offline Murray Stevens

on: March 24, 2014, 01:35:30 PM
Hi, I built my Crack a couple of months ago and all has been fine. On Friday, it suddenly went silent. No drama, it just went silent.

Today is the first day I have had time to troubleshoot a little.
Headphones work when plugged into computer output.
Cord from computer output checked for continuity and appears to be ok. (I'm new at this so I set my multimeter to "Continuity <100 ohms" per the manual and got readings when testing from each RCA jack to the miniplug.
Tubes glow when power is turned on.

I just did the resistance check per the manual. All is well except when I test Terminal 5. It starts at a value of 60ish and then climbs slowly upwards. This is a behavior similar to Terminal 13. This doesn't seem to be the way it should behave as it is marked with an asterisk which indicates it should display a fluctuating reading.

I don't have time to do anymore today before I leave for home. Just wondering if Terminal 5 indicates a problem that could have resulted in no output?

Will test voltages tomorrow when I have someone else here...I am very paranoid about the safety warnings...sorry for being a wimp ;-)

Cheers,

Murray

Murray Stevens

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 05:21:27 AM
The voltages will be very helpful.

-PB

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Murray Stevens

Reply #2 on: March 28, 2014, 01:42:59 PM
Hi PB,

I just measured all the voltages. Everything checked out ok. Plugged in the headphones again and it works just fine. I don't know what happened.

I appreciate you trying to help a noob.

But I'm a happy guy now, the tunes are flowing again :-)

Cheers,

Murray

Murray Stevens

Offline Grainger49

Reply #3 on: March 29, 2014, 01:54:15 AM
Murry,

There is something wrong.  It will come back after a while.