Fostex flats from madisound

pro_crip · 23269

Offline pro_crip

on: April 18, 2010, 08:21:41 AM
Hi all, not quite a newbie here (got a modified foreplay II under the belt) with paramount 300b's on the way. I'm trying to find some speakers to go with them (along with an eros and a foreplay III). I know I need high efficiency and was wondering if anyone built either one of these: http://madisound.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=8282 or http://madisound.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1399. And if they did, what were their impressions? Has anyone built the Fostex recommended enclosures? A friend of mine is a luthier so I'd have access to his shop and expertise for a bottle of Booker's (what a bargain). Any and all opinions will be appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

Rich
[email protected]

Richard J Feldman
Professional Gimp,connoisseur of Bourbon and Vinyl, metalhead

Crack, Extended FPIII, Eros, Paramount 300B's (in the midst of construction)

Tune down, smoke up

Offline glynnw

Reply #1 on: April 18, 2010, 06:28:57 PM
I am using the Fostex 208E Sigma in an open bafle (as part of the Basszilla speaker) and driving them with 300B Paramounts.  Sounds fine and plays plenty loud for me.

PC, J River software, opticaRendu, Schitt Ygg DAC,Tortuga Pre, Torta Radu tube buffer, Linear Tube Audio ZOTL10, Spatial Audio X5w/pair of GR Research dual 12" open baffle servo subwoofers tamed by DSpeaker Dual-Core DSP , Audience AU24 SE  spkr cable, handmade silver interconnects,

Offline howardnair

Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 12:25:59 PM
 i have built a jericho horn which is similar
and highly recommended--the basis being the fostex 208esigma--a very nice speaker-i added a ribbon tweeter. a fountek neocd2 --howie

Offline arveedub

Reply #3 on: April 19, 2010, 06:42:57 PM