xcortes · 8891

Offline xcortes

nt

Xavier Cortes

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009, 05:17:03 PM
I doubt it.

We did a prototype, but it turned out to be pretty difficult. There are heat and reliability issues, specifically with the current source that supplies the shunt regulator. It has to dissipate nearly twice as much power as can be easily handled by a TO-220 device. Whether we go to a larger TO-3 or use two or more TO-220 or TO-126 devices, or use a tube, it will take some engineering design and experimenting time to come up with a stable, reliable design that can be built as a kit.

What makes sense to me right now is fully shunt regulated 45 amps. Once the Stereomour is out and I have a bit of time, I plan to pursue that as the first step. So far, Doc B is not very excited about such a product, but as a designer I am so I'll probably continue to work on it. I want a pair for my own system, for one thing!

Remember, shunt regulation is very inefficient The regulator will usually dissipate at least as much power as the output tube, without contributing any audio power itself. And SETs are already quite inefficient.

Paul Joppa

Offline Jim R.

• Blind Bottlehead
Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 05:43:22 AM
Paul,

I could get excited about an SR 45 amp too, so if you come up with a good solution, I'd be glad to give it a try.

-- Jim

Jim Rebman -- recovering audiophile

Equitech balanced power; uRendu, USB processor -> Musette DAC -> 5670 tube buffer -> Finale Audio F138 FFX -> Cain and Cain Abbys near-field).

s.e.x. 2.1 under construction.  Want list: Stereomour II

All ICs homemade (speaker and power next)

Offline tsingle999

• We are all here because we are not all there.
Reply #3 on: October 26, 2009, 08:05:34 AM
I am excited about the stereomour as a SR45 product! I am currently addicted to the SR45 Paramour II. Taran