Horrible Microphonics/Hum Issue with Gainclone Amps

Tlarwa · 2243

Offline Tlarwa

on: January 30, 2015, 11:57:16 AM
I've bern running my new (to me, I bought it built) Smash with my 1.5W PSE amp and amp Super Pensil speakers with great results.  No noise at all, and it sounds great.  I just bought a pair of DALAudio gainclone mono block amps (http://www.dalaudio.com/Studio-3875-Mono-Block-Chip-Amps-p/dals3875mob-r2.htm) to use with my Klipsch Forte II's and have had completely different results.  As soon as I power the amps on I instantly get a loud hum and what I assume to be microphonics (I'm new to this, so be gentle with me).  But since it an echoey noise like you'd hear through a microphone I assume that's what it is.  Anyway, as a test I ran the DAL amps into my passive pre, and everything sounded great.  So it's clearly an issue of the Smash and the DAL amps not playing well together.  My first thought is that it's a gain issue, is that true?  The DAL amps do not have adjustable gain.  If it's something else, I'm all ears!  Again, I'm new to this, so I appreciate any and all help and suggestions.  I am capable of soldering and understand basic circuitry, so if theres a fix through adding or subtracting something in the circuit, I can give it a whirl.

Thanks!

Tom

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: January 30, 2015, 12:10:38 PM
Yeah you probably need to unclone some of that gain. The gain is usually ridiculous, like 30dB. Try inline attenuators, maybe -18dB.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Tlarwa

Reply #2 on: January 30, 2015, 06:56:55 PM