LP12 upgrade path

syncro · 6991

Offline syncro

• syncro architecture studio
on: July 10, 2010, 10:44:00 AM
How to get the most bang for the buck from my vintage LP12 is the question.  First of all, I am not very experienced in listening to audiophile systems.  I just don't get out much in that way.  Around 1990 was the last time I spent any significant time in listening rooms of the retail establishments of NYC.  I bought the used LP12 and had it completed and set up by Innovative Audio in Brooklyn around 1991.

Presently it remains as they left it, with original steel chassis, the Basik LV X tonearm and Linn K5 cartridge (a rebranded AT entry-level MM type).  From there I am using the Hagerman Ripper as the phono amp, Foreplay III and a stock vintage ST-70 amp.  Still listening to my 1980s Linn Index speakers.  There is really not much "buck" for the bang right now, but want to plan ahead.

Some friends and I listened to a comparison between vinyl and CD on my Rotel 975CD.  I thought that a good way to compare sonic qualities of the two inputs would be to use the same recording issued in both vinyl and on CD.   On LinnRecords label, it is "Hats" by The Blue Nile.    I was surprised that once we got the volumes adjusted equal, we did not find as much of a difference as I expected.  I was not blind-listening but they were, and though they could distinguish and select the two, they did not agree on the superiority of vinyl.   We did not compare at different volume levels, which might have revealed more difference.

I therefore suspect the turntable is not up to even a mid-level potential due to the tonearm and cartridge.  It is my understanding the Linn approach would first upgrade the power and chassis,  then tonearm, then cartridge.  I am not convinced the weak link is the chassis or power, but feel the tonearm may be the most significant deficiency.