dude, where did my power go?

Stalemate · 7288

Offline Stalemate

on: January 31, 2016, 09:39:03 AM
Hi,
I've assembled the stereomour II kit, following the excellent instructions provided.

All my resistance tests are a-ok, but when I do the power tests, I get very low values, so low that I was wondering if my multimeter is acting up, but control tests show expected results, so I'm a bit lost here.

I've checked the transformator and gets the expected results from "secondary power check", I've checked the wiring, but the first check comes out at 2 VDC, while the expected result is 360something.

how do I troubleshoot this? I don't dare connecting it to anything, since as far as I know, there are 358 unaccounted Volts in there somewhere...

I'm a newbie, so be nice...

Offline Stalemate

Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 02:15:02 AM
Hm, so after doing a quick "RTFM" on what to look for, I turned my attention to the C4S-board. I measured the transistors, and got these measurements on the "bipolar" - 1-3 ok, 1-2 null, 2-3 ok, 3-1 ok, while the other didn't give any measurements on any combination - so is this consistent with what I describe?

oh, and the leds are dark.

any help appreciated!

Offline kgoss

Reply #2 on: February 01, 2016, 05:43:22 AM
Do a complete voltage check and post any terminals that are off by more than 10%. PB or someone else at Bottlehead will help you resolve the problem. But they need the voltages that are off plus the terminal numbers to troubleshoot.

Ken Goss

Offline Stalemate

Reply #3 on: February 01, 2016, 09:02:43 AM
Thanks for the advice!
I managed to break one of the mje-transistors when I was measuring its function, so I need to order some new ones :(

I'll be back!

v

Offline Stalemate

Reply #4 on: February 03, 2016, 02:18:11 AM
I rebuilt the C4S and measured the function of the transistors ok, I also doublechecked the solders, and everything seems fine.