Stereomour II, Hum, Noise and Balance Issues [resolved]

ompv62 · 2038

Offline ompv62

Hello,

I just completed my Stereomour II build today (my first ever attempt at something like this). All voltage and resistance checks are good. I very much enjoyed building the amp - the instructions are perfect!

I listened to the amp for about 30 minutes and it sounds glorious!

However, there appears to be a moderate hum and I'm getting some intermittent ticks and pops on the right channel. Furthermore, it appears that I have a channel imbalance because I have to turn the balance knob approx 3/4's towards the right channel to center the stereo image (on music I know very well with the vocals dead center). My speakers are Omega Super 3XRS (94.5db).

I've been looking at the solder joints with a magnifying glass on the balance pot and volume pots and around the A socket but cannot find anything that looks like it needs to be reworked. I assume the A socket is the right channel?

Any suggestions on what I should do to hunt down this problem?

I read Mike B's post about adjusting the hum pots:

http://bottlehead.com/smf/index.php?topic=5168.0

I do not understand this:

3)  Short out the input to one channel
4)  Put AC voltmeter on that channel outputs
5)  Adjust humpot for lowest reading on voltmeter

Can someone please explain this to a novice?

Thank you in advance,
« Last Edit: July 28, 2016, 05:53:35 PM by Caucasian Blackplate »

-Ohan Markarian

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: July 25, 2016, 01:30:12 PM
To short the input, we normally advocate making a shorting plug - an RCA plug whose"hot" and "ground" are soldered together. Install the shorting plug on an input and set the selector to that input. A simpler procedure is to turn the volume control all the way down.