SEAS Exotic X1-08

johnsonad · 15899

Offline johnsonad

on: August 02, 2010, 01:55:54 AM
PJ had posted that he had some interest in this speaker over at the HE asylum.  I too have been looking at this speaker for the last year but hadn't pulled the trigger as my Altec Model 19's are great.  I had a pair of Madisound BLH's with Fostex 165's in them and this put the full range taste in my mouth.  The WAF is also much higher with the SEAS if I'm being honest :)

If the 8 Ohm driver was used and implimented in the suggested sealed enclosure, given the posted numbers (as i'm not good with these) how well would they mate with a pair of 300B Paramounts taking into consideration dampening and such? 

For finished or near finished speakers I see two out there without looking too hard. 
1.  John at KCS (http://www.kcsloudspeakers.com/) has a finished sealed box pair
2.  Madisound (https://www.madisound.com/store/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=177&products_id=8504) offeres an enclosure for the speaker.
Any thoughts or comments on these?  Nelson Pass wrote that this is a pretty amazing little speaker and so have others but it seems it hasn't been implimented in many commercial offerings yet. 

Aaron

Aaron Johnson

Offline edfallon

Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 04:07:00 AM
They should work great with Paramount 300b amps in most listening environments.  I built a Tangband W1808 clone that is much less $$ and works in the same 2cu' sealed box.   Either driver will need a simple BSC type filter to tame a mild rising repsponse which ulitimately reduces the advertised efficiency but are still plenty loud with 8watts.  Mine also needed a sub to fill in the bottom octave but the combo works very well.  This is a very easy system to build if you have even limited woodworking skills.  I'll try and demo them the next time the local bottleheads get together. http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=264-894

Offline johnsonad

Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 05:10:42 AM