News: Trouble logging in? Log in from the login page.
September 30, 2020, 10:36:38 PM

Author Topic: Stereomour with external pre-amp  (Read 1146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lordvader

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Stereomour with external pre-amp
« on: November 14, 2016, 06:37:12 PM »
Hey all.

I'm close to purchasing a Stereomour II (any black Friday deals coming up ???), but have a question ...
I already have a pre-amp, so have no intention of using the switch, volume or balance controls, so ...

Is it possible to get a plate without the extra holes (or a layout for Front Panel Express so I can get a custom one done up) ?
And ... is removing the volume and balance controls as simple enough as adding 50K resistor across the input ?

Thanks :)

Offline Doc B.

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8243
    • Bottlehead
Re: Stereomour with external pre-amp
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 08:15:01 PM »
Just turn the volume up all the way.
Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline lordvader

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Stereomour with external pre-amp
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2016, 03:12:52 PM »
Can the controls be removed all together ?
I have a pet peeve about doubling up on volume controls :P

Offline Doc B.

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8243
    • Bottlehead
Re: Stereomour with external pre-amp
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2016, 04:30:21 PM »
If you turn the volume pot up all the way it's effectively a grid resistor and a direct connection to the input grid, same a fixed resistor and a piece of wire at the input of a power amp. I don't mean to sound intolerant but I often see posts where a builder wants to change something seemingly because it feels right, while from a technical perspective the work involved to modify the amp might not necessarily be justified.

All that said, yes, you can replace the pot with a fixed value grid resistor.
Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13595
Re: Stereomour with external pre-amp
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2016, 06:49:41 AM »
You can also fill all the holes in the chassis plate with chrome hole plugs. 

I would also mention that very nicely built kits that are bone stock have very high resale value (in case the Kaiju beckons down the road).
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man