Foreplay III Upgrade Advice

skippy1416 · 11438

Offline skippy1416

on: August 28, 2010, 09:51:12 AM
Hello,

Now that my Foreplay III has been in the system for a few months and I have settled on tubes (Raytheon 12AU7s and a CBS Hytron 0D3) I am looking to do some upgrading.  I am still a newbie (I learnt to solder just for the kit) and I have to admit that I don't completely understand how the kit works - but that doesn't mean that I don't want it to sound better.

I know that the old forum had a lot of information about upgrades but there doesn't seem to be a lot on the new forum.  So please forgive me if this has been covered in the past but I am hoping that it will be valuable to others (as well as myself).

If I wanted to make one or two simple and inexpensive changes to a Foreplay III what would you recommend.  I'm not ruling out the Extended upgrade but right now it isn't in the budget since I am planning to order a Seduction very soon.  Ideally any recommended upgrade would complement the Extended if I was to go that way in the future.

I am guessing that the volume switches and/or the input selector might be a good place to start. Or should I go straight into caps?  Or something else entirely?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 11:50:08 AM
I'd do the output caps (2.2uF/250v) first. It's easy, it's non-critical (250v or greater voltage rating, but anything from 1uF to 10uF will work fine), and there are many choices.

The switches are more of a long-term thing - the stock units sound fine, it's a matter of longevity and resolution. Google for switched attenuators and you'll see why this kit does not include 24-position $hallco attenuators!

Many of the upgrades for the Foreplay I and II are incorporated into the III, which is one reason there are fewer posts.

Paul Joppa

Offline ssssly

Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 12:22:36 PM