Finished Build - Normal Resistance/Voltage - No A8 LED Light - Loud Noise

Tommy Coyote · 1184

Offline Tommy Coyote

Hi All,

I'm new to soldering and tube amps in general, and had a lot of fun with my Bottlehead Crack build, but could use some help as something didn't go right. When performing the resistance checks everything came out normal. The glow test looks good as well (both halves of both tubes appear to light up fine). The voltage checks also look good to me, but I will post all measurements here just in case that helps.

The A8 LED lights up initially, then flickers a little, then goes out within a couple seconds. This behavior seems to occur after each cooldown and test. The A3 LED takes a few seconds to slowly light up, but then it stays lit. I went ahead and tested the sound with my headphones (on my initial inspection I THOUGHT the A8 LED was lit, but now realize it was just reflecting light from elsewhere)... with nothing plugged into the RCA jacks, there is initially no sound, then a very loud buzz that persists regardless of the volume knob setting. Adding an input source makes no difference, but picking up the unit and turning it on/off the sound seems to follow the A3 light (a popping sound synced to a flicker as it goes out... the loud noise kicks in when the light gets bright).

I searched the forums as well and found a post with similar symptoms so I measured the voltage at A3 and A8 and included those below. I tried wiring a cable from A3 to A8 as well but that had no effect on the voltage measurements (and I checked with headphones again... same loud sound).

T1: 84.9V (slowly dropping to 77.5V)
T2: 169.3V
T3: 0.4mV
T4: 169.3V
T5: 85.2V
T6: 0.4mV
T7: 121V
T8: 0.7mV
T9: 103.7V
T10: 0.4mV
A3: 1.567V
A8: -12.7mV

I went ahead and ordered a fresh pack of HLMP-6000 LEDs and plan on replacing the A8 LED as soon as possible. Any other suggestions are much appreciated :)

Thanks!
-Tommy

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator