News:
December 05, 2022, 07:28:44 AM

Author Topic: No Voltage at Terminal 9 [resolved]  (Read 703 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GJW123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
No Voltage at Terminal 9 [resolved]
« on: March 15, 2020, 11:01:09 AM »
Hello everyone. Just finished assembling the crack for the first time. I have followed the steps in verifying resistance...everything checks OK. LEDs are both lit. Voltage check was going well until I came to terminal 9, which i understand to be the left channel. At this location I have 0 volts, as well at B6. All others are within the normal ranges as published. I have rechecked my wiring and all solder joints to make sure I did not miss anything, and I have re-seated the tubes as well for good measure. The 6080 tube appears to be fully lit on both sides.

Any suggestions as to what may be causing this? Thanks in advance for the help. Any input is appreciated.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2020, 06:23:25 AM by Paul Birkeland »

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17650
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2020, 11:51:22 AM »
I'd be interested in seeing photos of your build.  I would strongly suggest not running the amp (as you said, the left channel isn't working anyway ;) )
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline GJW123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2020, 05:01:20 PM »
Thanks for your reply.  Here are some photos as requested.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17650
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2020, 06:00:07 AM »
This could be as simple as a flaky joint on B5.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline GJW123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2020, 03:26:47 PM »
Thanks again for your help. I cleaned up the connections at 9, 10, B6 and B5 and re-soldered. Still hitting the same wall. Took the following voltage measurements referencing 12U...

1- 77 V
2- 190.5 V
3- 0 V
4- 190.5 V
5- 74 V
6- 0 V
7- 110.5 V
8- 0 V
9- 0 V
10- 0 V

B1- 77 V
B2- 191 V
B3- 110.5 V
B4- 74 V
B5- 190.5 V
B6- 0V
B7- 0V
B8- 0V

Offline kgoss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2020, 03:04:59 AM »
PB is the amp designer and provides the best tech support you can get for the Crack amp so I'm not hijacking his support work with you.  But I must say you have done an excellent job building your Crack.  You have crimped the wires and your solder work looks good.  So the reason I'm posting is the possibility of nicking a wire while stripping and then it breaking under the insulation after being bent.  Paul said the joint at B5 could be the problem.  Just check for a broken wire as well as the solder joints themselves.

PB will get you up and running.
Ken Goss

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17650
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2020, 05:59:54 AM »
Ken is correct, what I see in your build shows me that you took your time and definitely paid close attention to the manual.

What resistance do you see between ground and terminal 9?
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline GJW123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2020, 04:08:50 PM »
Thanks guys! I appreciate all the help and respectful comments. Also...thanks for sticking with me here. I checked the wiring to and from B5 again, couldn't tell if I had a break or not, so I replaced it. Voltage measurements still the same. Resistance at terminal 9 is 2.9K.  Checked all the resistances and they look in line with the listed resistances. 

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17650
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2020, 04:58:33 AM »
In the absence of other possibilities, it might help to try a different 6080.  While we do test every tube before we ship a kit, you have all the conditions that should allow for proper voltage to develop at terminal 9.  The possible causes of something like this would generally be:

Loose wires on B4, B5, or B6
Loose connection at terminal 9 for the 3K resistor or wire going to B6
Backwards 100uF cap
Wire going to the HP jack connected to T9 instead of T10 (this would come with other major problems)
6080 that isn't conducting on one side
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline GJW123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2020, 03:56:18 PM »
I'll give it a shot. Any chance that it could be something within the tube socket itself?

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17650
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2020, 05:27:02 AM »
This is somewhat possible, but the sockets are brand new.  If you rocked the tube around a little in the socket and the voltage came up, that might be an indicator.  The tube itself could have oxidized pins too which might be preventing one from making contact with the socket.  You can clean off the pins or just pull the tube out and put it back in the socket four or five times to cut through any potential corrosion.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline GJW123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Voltage at Terminal 9
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2020, 06:19:05 AM »
VICTORY!!! It was the tube. I managed to get a new 6080 in relatively short order. Replaced and all is good. Sounds Awesome. Dead silent, no noise, music just emerges. Very pleased.  Thanks for your help.