?balanced inputs/outputs

Unmeshed · 3257

Offline Unmeshed

on: December 06, 2010, 07:22:59 PM
Sorry if this has been covered previously.  I am a newbie who always wanted to build my own stuff.  I am considering the ForeplayIII partnered with a Cary CAD 120 amp and would like to take advantage of the balanced input if possible since I am told this would have a lower noise floor than the RCA jacks.  First of all, would this board agree that the balanced inputs would be quieter? Secondly, could the Foreplay III be built with balanced inputs/outputs?  Thanks!

Offline JC

Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 08:11:38 PM
I can't speak to the amplifier, but only in general terms.  Balanced audio lines certainly have their uses, particularly for long runs and in electrically noisy environments.

If these conditions are not an issue, though, I really don't know that you will gain much, if anything, in terms of lowering the noise floor at nominal line levels.

To put it another way, in a typical home hifi installation, I would certainly put my money elsewhere first.

Jim C.

Offline Grainger49

Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 07:41:49 AM
Just a few observations.  The FP III, like all standard Bottlehead equipment, doesn't have balanced inputs or outputs.  I can't speak for the custom work they do.

That said, there is one kind of noise that balanced interconnects rejects.  It is common mode noise picked up in the interconnects.  If that is a problem then balanced outputs/interconnects/inputs will definitely help.  It doesn't do a thing to help the noise floor.  It requires twice the electronics, and therefore expense, to execute balanced inputs or outputs.  Twice the electronics can raise the noise floor in a piece of equipment because you have twice the amplifying devices.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 02:27:52 PM by Grainger49 »

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: December 07, 2010, 09:28:33 AM