Troubles getting getting started with S.E.X. :D

sventyfour · 17078

Offline sventyfour

on: November 04, 2009, 03:51:02 PM
Hello all,
I've just purchased a second hand S.E.X. Kit that has already been assembled. It was working fine for a few months, but after a recent move I just recently had time to setup my stereo. I plugged everything in and flipped on the switch. The tubes glowed on, I heard a faint buzzing for ~5sec then it faded along with the tubes. I turned it off and there was a faint smell of melted plastic.
I'm a total newbie to the world of electronics and was hoping someone could help diagnose my situation. Where should I start? Should I go out and get a voltmeter first?
Thanks in advance,
Charles W.

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 04:19:56 PM
OK, the first thing to know is that you can always send it to Ed and get it fixed, if you have to. I say that not to get you to send it, but so you won't panic.  :^)  There is another option - if there is a Bottlehead near you, they might be willing to help. We're a pretty tight community.

Yes, the care and feeding of a home-built amp is likely to require a meter at some point, might as well be now. Cheap ones are good enough for most people and are widely available. Make sure you can measure up to 500 volts DC, and resistances.

Did you get the manual? There is a section on safety there which you MUST read and understand before you start poking your fingers in where there might be the aforementioned 500 volts. There is also a section on troubleshooting in the manual. And, if you are going to do any of your own troubleshooting, or if anyone here is going to be able to help you, you will have to become acquainted with the terminal identifications, also made clear in the manual. If you don't have it, either bug the seller or contact Eileen and get it.