Hum varying with volume wheel

[email protected] · 3481

Offline [email protected]

on: August 01, 2023, 04:14:27 AM
Hello everyone, I just completed my S.E.X 3.0 kit, and it sounds very good! But.. I am experiencing varying hum/ringing as I move the volume wheel (on hd600, and very present in lower impedance headphones). It is my first time doing any soldering and DIY electronics.. Could anyone help me out?

Symptoms:
AMP set at 4ohms, with hum that varies with the potentiometer volume wheel. Figured it would go away after C4S. It has attenuated a bit, but far from gone.
The hum is there at the beginning (12), drops near 4, picks up and becomes louder after 6, occurs slightly differently on both channels (level of hum that is). Hum sounds high frequency, and is present without external input (from DAC). I have done resistance/voltage check, and everything is within normal range as stated in the manual.

Attached are photos, before C4S was installed. But I can upload specific areas if needed
« Last Edit: August 01, 2023, 04:22:18 AM by [email protected] »

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: August 01, 2023, 04:43:08 AM
Hum sounds high frequency, and is present without external input (from DAC).
An open input will pick up noise.  If you don't have your source hooked up, this behavior is not abnormal.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #2 on: August 01, 2023, 04:44:10 AM
Also be sure the nut on the corner of the power transformer by power transformer terminal 12 isn't allowed to touch any neighboring terminals.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Reply #3 on: August 01, 2023, 05:15:16 AM
An open input will pick up noise.  If you don't have your source hooked up, this behavior is not abnormal.

Same humming persists after joining external DAC.

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #4 on: August 01, 2023, 05:23:46 AM