Right channel output dropping [resolved]

larcenasb · 1173

Offline larcenasb

on: September 02, 2024, 08:16:13 PM
Hello all,

I've been enjoying my Crackatwoa greatly for just about two years now. Everything was working perfectly from the start. However, just lately the volume in the right channel droops very low while listening. I noticed if I turn the volume knob up, the right channel makes a little click and comes back to the same level as the left. But then, over time, the volume droops low again.

Anyone experience this or have an idea what might be causing it? I'll try troubleshooting any suggestions later in the week. Thanks for any help. Cheers

- Lowell

My system: Chord Mojo 1 -> DIY Mogami IC -> Bottlehead Crackatwoa -> AKG K240 Sextett
« Last Edit: September 08, 2024, 04:45:46 AM by Paul Birkeland »

Lowell B.

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: September 03, 2024, 05:04:30 AM
Pretty much the same as we always recommend - run the amp upside down and poke at various connections with something non-conductive to see if you can create the dropout or create the situation where the level comes back up when it is dropped out. Check all your voltages and report any that are out of spec. Try different tubes.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline larcenasb

Reply #2 on: September 03, 2024, 06:25:44 AM
Thanks Doc, will try these steps later in the week and will report back. Cheers

Lowell B.

Offline larcenasb

Reply #3 on: September 07, 2024, 10:37:49 PM
Alright, first troubleshooting was all the easy stuff, one at a time: switched input tube, switched output tube, switched headphones, switched input, switched DAC ...all to no avail.

I then flipped over the top plate to take a look at the circuit and solder joints. Nothing jumped out as a bad/cold joint. When I completed the build two years ago, the joints were shiny and all resistance and voltage checks were good.