Foreplay III troubleshooting

q · 35337

Offline q

on: November 06, 2009, 11:24:16 AM
Hi
I'm a bit of a newbie and was wondering if this is the right place to bring up troubleshooting the Foreplay III?
Just finished quite a few similar projects with no problems at all and really want to get the ForeplayIII right
The Quickie should not be kicking it's butt.
I'll do one more Voltage check just to make sure
thx a bunch for your time and patience with noobs like me
q

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: November 06, 2009, 11:29:35 AM
Yup, this is the place. What kind of problem are you having?

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline q

Reply #2 on: November 06, 2009, 11:51:01 AM
Thx for the fast reply mate
I wanted to do one more voltage check so that we have a good place to start
Continuity check was fine.
Sound wise, It's very thin with very little gain, lots of distortion in the bass
I'm convinced that i did something wrong with this
Stay tuned please. I'll have some better info soon
thx again
q

Offline q

Reply #3 on: November 06, 2009, 12:23:10 PM
One thing was obvious was i left a long uncut lead in the PS
The cap nearest the rectifier circuit. The lead "was"(cuz i snipped it) about a 16th" away from the diodes
also, I am suspicious about where all of the grounds are attached at #28. I don't think I did that right because I ran out of room real quick
again, thx so much for the help
I'll have some better data Sunday, been working 70hrs 6days...thank goodness!..=more kits to build he he
q

Offline q

Reply #4 on: November 08, 2009, 07:04:17 AM
Well how to begin to describe the embarrassment you feel when you find the problem
Hard to type when listening to my system now...Thank you all
Unbelievable!...and, I built it all with me own wee hands!
can't thank you guys enough
q

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #5 on: November 08, 2009, 09:23:58 AM