Photosensitive tubes

Bolivar · 10811

Offline Bolivar

on: November 28, 2011, 12:03:45 PM
I have a Cifte 12au7 tube that reacts to a specific led light when used in my bottlehead crack. When I shine the light on the tube I can hear a sound through my headphones. It sounds like a fairly pure tone. Anyone else come across tube behaviour like this? I'm no expert on tubes and have no idea how common this is. I don't have any other equipment to connect it to and it's the only tube that acts this way.

Valtteri Nurmi

AMB Gamma2 DAC --> Crack --> Beyerdynamic DT880

Offline Laudanum

Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 02:11:30 PM
Maybe it's possessed  ...  J/K

Desmond G.

Offline porcupunctis

• 0D3
Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 02:37:51 PM
Tell me about the red light.  How is it powered?  Is it LED, compact flourescent, incandescent, neon, Xenon?  How close does it need to be?  Is it a high tone or a low tone?

My thinking is that it isn't the light but some electrical noise that the light source is producing.

Randall Massey
Teacher of Mathematics
Lifetime audio-electronics junkie

Offline Bolivar

Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 03:03:47 PM
It's actually not a red light but a LED light. It's a light on my phone that acts as a camera flash/ flashlight. At first I thought it would be interference from the phone, but if I hold the phone next to the tube facing the other way or just hold my finger in front of the light, no sound is emitted. No electromagnetic interference would be that uni-directional(well apart from the light of course).

The sound itself seems to be somewhere around 500hz and it changes from the left to the right channel depending on which side I point the light. The sound becomes audible with the light source at about 20cm or so.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 03:11:17 PM by Bolivar »

Valtteri Nurmi

Offline Grainger49

Reply #4 on: November 29, 2011, 03:28:40 AM