newbie needs help

bmurph7 · 6897

Offline bmurph7

on: October 13, 2012, 01:36:17 PM
I am attempting my first project, and I need some help with a few issues and a question answered.  First the question.  I am fairly new to soldering, and am using a 40 watt Weller iron.  I have read about, and seen on Tyell's video, what is called "wettin", but when I try it with my iron, the solder just rolls off.  Is there something to do to prep a new iron?  
   Now to the problems with my Crack attempt.  When I finished, the amp didn't pass the first ohm test.  So I started looking, and found some poor soldering which I repaired.  The amp then passed all the ohms tests, but when I powered up, the first volt test was way out (220).  Further checking revealed I had incorrectly oriented the 8pin tubed holder.  I removed it and resoldered but now the ohms on terminal 13 read a steady 532 with no increase from there.  According to the manual, the oms should rise steadily to 270K.  This was the case before I realigned the tube mount.  I also seem to have some solder in one of the pin holders and the tube does not fully seat.  Can the solder be removed, or do I have to replace the mount?
   I would greatly appreciate any help as my knowledge is very limited.  Thank You
« Last Edit: October 13, 2012, 01:49:08 PM by bmurph7 »

Offline sl-15

Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 02:44:34 PM