Dungeness in the House - System Now Complete

dhherring · 6300

Offline dhherring

on: September 17, 2013, 02:27:34 AM
Received my new Dungeness sub from Clark and Molly yesterday.

Hooked it right up to my S.E.X 2.1 and existing pair of Orcas. The Dungeness replaced a Dayton Audio Sub-800 (or something like that).

Whoa.   While I thought the Dayton was doing a fairly good job, I hear now it is nowhere in the same league as the Orca/Dungeness combination.

I'm not very good at articulating sonic qualities, but I think the biggest improvement in the sound scape is in the lower mids/upper bass frequencies. It's like another realm of sound has just opened up.  Also, the bass is much clearer and more refined.

Many thanks to Clark and Molly for producing smaller sub that fits into my environment.  The only reason I did not pursue the Orca sub was its size - it just would not work in my listening area.  The Dungeness is a perfect fit and match.

Don
« Last Edit: September 17, 2013, 07:05:32 AM by dhherring »

Home: Rega RP-1 -> Eros Phono Pre -> Stereomour -> Klipsch Heresys
Office: Raspberry Pi w/Raspyfi -> Aune T1 DAC -> S.E.X 2.1 -> Blumenstein Orcas/Dungeness Sub

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 06:49:11 AM
I am expecting similar things.  The Boston Acoustics sub I have is not nearly as quick as the Orcas.  That makes the bass heavy and plodding.  It is like it is being held back.

Offline Clark B.

• Enjoying Single Drivers & SET's since 2006
    • Blumenstein Audio
Reply #2 on: September 18, 2013, 08:44:17 AM
Don - just wait until that Dungeness driver loosens up in a few weeks!

Glad to hear you are enjoying it so much!

Cheers,

-Clark

Offline Chris

Reply #3 on: September 19, 2013, 07:53:39 AM
I agree with you G.. i had the same experience auditioning a Boston sub years back...massive power this had (15''), but super slow....its of course NOT audiophile caliber...

Offline Clark B.

• Blumenstein Audio