Choke question

diynewbie · 3921

Offline diynewbie

on: September 03, 2016, 10:25:21 AM
I've been enjoying my crack w/ speedball for several months and now considering some of the upgrades.

After looking at lots of pictures of the things this group has stuffed into this device ("their cracks" seemed liked a bad idea) I noticed that some mounted a choke behind the transformer and others traversed the transformer.

From a practical standpoint (i.e. this amp) is one better than the other?  From a design standpoint what could potentially be a problem with either location?

What would be the theoretical benefit of replacing one resistor with an inductor and how would/could this translate to the sound signature (if f I did this, what should I be listening for)?

Offline ALL212

Reply #1 on: September 03, 2016, 11:32:51 AM
Not sure if everyone agrees but this article helped me a bit...

http://www.aikenamps.com/index.php/chokes-explained

Aaron Luebke

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #2 on: September 06, 2016, 08:45:34 AM
You want the inductor cores to be perpendicular to minimize coupling. You can base this upon faith and just mount it in the theoretical null spot, or you can connect it and move it around to find the actual best position by looking at the 60Hz output of the PS or the headphone output with a scope.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline diynewbie

Reply #3 on: September 10, 2016, 12:18:14 PM
ALL212 for the link.  If my understanding is correct, an inductor will reduce the magnitude of the ripple current more than a resistor (not clear to me whether a resistor reduces the magnitude of the ripple).   In any case, if the ripple was causing an audible affect, I would expect to hear improvement in the base region and perhaps what some might call more “air” between the musicians.