Bottlehead race sponsorship

Doc B. · 5685

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
on: July 09, 2018, 11:03:24 AM
A few of you know that I have been building a race bike for the past two years. Today was a landmark day for me, as I just registered for the Bonneville Motorcycle Speed Trials at the Salt Flats at the end of August. Shit's getting real. While I do plan to attempt a record run this won't exactly be in nosebleed territory (some "sit on" bikes are running around 265 mph these days). I'll be running a mostly stock 1962 Honda CB77 on a 62 mph record. Hoping for at least 80, and hoping some veteran racer doesn't decide to change classes to run against me. Bottlehead Michael Dunnigan will also be running the bike. Bottlehead Jim Laurel has volunteered to come down and shoot video of the attempt.

One cool aspect of this is I got to pick my own race number. 6080 seemed most appropriate, as all those Crack kits help to finance the endeavor. Funny thing is I'm not too concerned about the runs. The only bit I'm nervous about is sitting around in full leathers in 95 degree heat, ugh. My native PNW metabolism can hardly stand sitting at a traffic light on a hot day!

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: July 09, 2018, 12:40:53 PM
Let's hope you hit 88!

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline johnsonad

Reply #2 on: July 09, 2018, 03:39:05 PM
You’ve got this Dan!

Aaron Johnson

Offline Tom-s

Reply #3 on: July 10, 2018, 12:05:03 AM
Looking forward to the video footage! Good luck!

Offline mcandmar

• Not all engineers are civil
Reply #4 on: July 10, 2018, 12:18:54 AM
Sounds like a blast, have fun!

M.McCandless

Offline Deluk

Reply #5 on: July 10, 2018, 01:12:17 AM
Looking forward to the video footage! Good luck!