News:
December 07, 2021, 11:24:11 AM

Author Topic: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build [resolved]  (Read 1022 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2020, 08:19:39 AM »
You aren't heating the joints enough.  Look at 19 and 18 lower terminals.  Do you see how there's no solder flowing through the terminal strip?  Now hold your iron onto each of those terminals until the solder flows into the terminal strip, then repeat for the whole amp.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2020, 08:25:11 AM »
Thank you Paul. On it.

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2020, 07:38:50 AM »
Thank you, again for your help. I feel like a 3 year old. Humbling!

Another round of re-soldering. My current voltage checks fail for terminals 1 & 7 now.

1 is supposed to be 50-100V, it is reading ~158V
7 is supposed to be 90-115V, it is reading ~155V

What have I done?!

Tx

Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2020, 08:24:47 AM »
Do both halves of your 12AU7 glow?
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2020, 09:04:26 AM »
It looks like it. Photo attached.

Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2020, 09:18:34 AM »
Can you carefully measure the voltage at A8?
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2020, 09:55:08 AM »
1.63V

Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2020, 10:01:56 AM »
How about A7?
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2020, 10:52:11 AM »
Small spark when measuring at A7. A7=0V.
Remeasuring A8, it is now 13.3! I checked it several times, this time, and last time.

Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2020, 11:07:30 AM »
And the LED is not lit?

That LED is toast.  You can temporarily place a wire between A3 and A8 to get around this issue.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #25 on: July 01, 2020, 07:42:34 AM »
Thank you, Paul. I really, really appreciate your help. 

That LED did go (i.e.; it no longer glows) and a wire from A3-A8 did get the voltage at A8 back to 1.6. The other voltage measurements in the manual are back to matching the ranges. Earlier in this thread 1 and 7 which were (I think) erroneous are now in range.

A7 = 0, is that correct? I have assumed it is.

The amp turns on and the tubes glow. The other LED glows. When I 1st turned it on, it had more low grade background noise, which didn't change with the volume knob. It produces sound. The amp still has pops and clicks, some loud. I assume this is my apparently abysmal soldering! Would you perhaps advise an overhaul level, desolder/remove some solder, re-solder to sure everything up? Humbling!

Tx



Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #26 on: July 01, 2020, 07:46:28 AM »
Pops and clicks could certainly be solder joint issues.  One thing we will recommend is to plug an inexpensive pair of headphones into the amp and poke around the circuit with a wooden chopstick to see which joints set off the noises. 
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #27 on: July 05, 2020, 07:08:13 AM »
Hi

I have done the chopstick test, and patched that wire past the dead LED. I can't really get it to crackle by touching anything. Today I turned it on, let it warm up for 30 mins or so, then plugged in a DAC and sacrificial headphones. For maybe 5 minutes, sounded noise free. Then, there was a loud crackle/pop. I took the headphones off my head (it was loud). I don't quite understand why, but the music player stopped. Laptop> USB> DAC> RCA> Crack. When I pressed play again, it played OK.

I have a few times been over the soldering and can't really find an issue. Frustrating. I am guessing it is still likely a soldering issue somewhere?

Thanks again for the hand-holding.

Online Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #28 on: July 05, 2020, 07:15:17 AM »
If the music player stopped, it's possible that what's going on may not be in the Crack itself.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rat3hat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: (I think) blown capacitor on new crack build
« Reply #29 on: July 05, 2020, 07:32:55 AM »
I do think it is very, very odd.  The same setup has always worked without issue (same laptop>DAC>[amp]>headphones) with at least 2 other amps. I will go and try it with another amp again now.